Costa Rica

Where to experience your green miracle

Costa Rica

So small and yet full of records! In relation to its small area, Costa Rica has the highest biodiversity in the world. 99 % of its electricity is generated from renewable sources. And in the prestigious Happy Planet Index for well-being and sustainability, it has been ranked first for years, ahead of 139 countries.

Read more
Costa Rica Photo Gallery

Colourful eco-paradise

Costa Rica Photo Gallery

Shortly before the 2nd lockdown, I take the opportunity for a short escape to Costa Rica. In almost deserted national parks, an exuberant plant and animal world awaits me. A detailed article on my trip will appear in Terra magazine in April 2021.

Read more
Jordan

Desert Adventure Wadi Rum

Jordan

A labyrinth of magnificent sandstone formations stretches as far as the eye can see, the sun makes the steep, red craggy rock faces shine, the desert wind whispers stories of times gone by – in Wadi Rum, Jordan is “great cinema”.

Read more
New Caledonia

A Piece of France in the South Seas

New Caledonia

Like a South Seas dream come true, New Caledonia lies east of Australia in the Pacific Ocean. Seen from Europe, this is actually directly at the other end of the world. Those who take the long journey will experience turquoise water and dazzling white beaches as well as many surprises.

Read more
Amazon

Expedition to the "green lungs" of Brazil

Amazon

Deep in the Amazon is a place where, surrounded by the wilderness and all its inhabitants, you can experience the rainforest in an extraordinary way. Malte Clavin went on a voyage of discovery here.

Read more
Arctic

Expedition to the Arctic Ocean

Arctic

Aboard the research vessel ‘Resolute’, I lent a hand as a temporary scientist and helped collect data. The expedition took us through the Canadian Arctic to the breathtaking fjords of Greenland.

Read more
New Caledonia Photo Gallery

All endemic or what?

New Caledonia Photo Gallery

Grasshoppers, ants, cicadas, black flies, phasmids. Then 197 species of butterflies and even a leafcutter bee. The island is also home to endemic snakes, skinks, geckos, bats, 21 species of birds, including an entire family of bird species, the kagus.

Read more
Sri Lanka Photo Gallery

Pearl in the Indian Ocean

Sri Lanka Photo Gallery

Sri Lanka: a small, extremely diverse country with the size of Bavaria. The tropical island delights with paradisiacal beaches, mountains up to 2,500 metres high, historical sanctuaries and an exuberant flora and fauna. I spent 5 months there with my family.

Read more

Costa Rica

Wo man sein grünes Wunder erleben kann

Costa Rica

So klein und dennoch voller Rekorde! Im Verhältnis zu seiner kleinen Fläche besitzt Costa Rica die höchste Biodiversität der Welt. 99 % seines Stroms wird aus erneuerbaren Quellen erzeugt. Und im angesehenen Happy Planet Index für Wohlbefinden und Nachhaltigkeit belegt es seit Jahren vor 139 Staaten den ersten Platz.

Mehr...
Costa Rica Fotogalerie

Farbenprächtiges Öko-Paradies

Costa Rica Fotogalerie

Kurz vor dem zweiten Lockdown ergreife ich die Gelegenheit für eine kleine Flucht nach Costa Rica. In fast menschenleeren Nationalparks erwartet mich eine überbordende Pflanzen- und Tierwelt. Den ausführlichen Artikel über die Reise erscheint im Terra-Magazin (s. unten).

Mehr...
Jordanien

Wüstenabenteuer im Wadi Rum

Jordanien

Ein Labyrinth aus prächtigen Sandsteinformationen erstreckt sich so weit das Auge reicht, die Sonne bringt die steilen, rot zerklüfteten Felswände zum Strahlen, der Wüstenwind flüstert Geschichten aus vergangenen Zeiten – im Wadi rum ist Jordanien „ganz großes Kino“.

Mehr...
Neukaledonien

Ein Stück Frankreich in der Südsee

Neukaledonien

Wie ein wahr gewordener Südseetraum liegt Neukaledonien östlich von Australien im Pazifik. Das ist von Europa aus gesehen tatsächlich direkt am anderen Ende der Welt. Wer die weite Reise auf sich nimmt, erlebt neben türkis schillerndem Wasser und blenden weißen Stränden auch so manche Überraschung.

Mehr...
Amazonas

Expedition in die "grüne Lunge" Brasiliens

Amazonas

Tief im Amazonasgebiet befindet sich ein Ort, an dem man, umgeben von der Wildnis und all ihren Bewohnern, den Regenwald auf außergewöhnliche Weise erleben kann. Malte Clavin ist hier auf Entdeckungsreise gegangen.

Mehr...
Sri Lanka Titelfoto

TERRA Magazin 02/2020

Sri Lanka Titelfoto

Mein Foto vom goldenen Kloster Rangiri Vihara hat es auf die Titelseite des Terra-Magazins geschafft. Der Höhlentempel von Dambulla blickt auf eine etwa 2000jährige Geschichte zurück.

Mehr...
Arktis

Expedition ins Eismeer

Arktis

An Bord des Forschungsschifs ‚Resolute‘ habe ich mich als Wissenschaftler auf Zeit versucht und bei der Erhebung von Daten mitgeholfen. Die Expedition führte durch die kanadische Arktis bis zu den atemberaubenden Fjorden Grönlands.

Mehr...
Neukaledonien Fotogalerie

Alles endemisch oder was?

Neukaledonien Fotogalerie

Heuschrecken, Ameisen, Zikaden, Kriebelmücken, Phasmiden. Dann noch 197 Schmetterlingsarten und sogar eine Blattschneidebiene. Die Insel beherbergt auch endemische Schlangen, Skinke, Geckos, Fledermäuse, 21 Vogelarten, darunter eine ganze Vogelartenfamilie, die Kagus.

Mehr...
Sri Lanka Fotogalerie

Perle im indischen Ozean

Sri Lanka Fotogalerie

Sri Lanka: ein kleines, extrem abwechslungsreiches Land mit der Fläche Bayerns. Die Tropeninsel begeistert mit paradiesischen Stränden, Bergland bis 2.500 Meter Höhe, historischen Heiligtümern und überbordender Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Mit meiner Familie verbrachte ich dort 5 Monate.

Mehr...